Allo' Expat Namibia - Connecting Expats in Namibia  
Allo' Expat Namibia Logo

Subscribe to Allo' Expat Newsletter
Check our Rates
   Information Center Namibia
Namibia General Information
History of Namibia
Namibia Culture
Namibia Cuisine
Namibia Geography
Namibia Population
Namibia Government
Namibia Economy
Namibia Communications
Namibia Transportations
Namibia Military
Namibia Transnational Issues
Namibia Healthcare
Namibia People, Language & Religion
Namibia Expatriates Handbook
Namibia and Foreign Government
Namibia General Listings
Namibia Useful Tips
Namibia Education & Medical
Namibia Travel & Tourism Info
Namibia Lifestyle & Leisure
Namibia Business Matters
  Sponsored Links

Check our Rates

Namibia Government


Politics of Namibia takes place in a framework of a presidential representative democratic republic, whereby the President of Namibia is both head of state and head of government, and of a pluriform multi-party system. Executive power is exercised by the government. Legislative power is vested in both the government and the two chambers of parliament.

Parliament has two chambers. The National Assembly has 78 members, elected for a five year term, 72 members elected by proportional representation and 6 members appointed by the president. The National Council has 26 members, elected for a six year term in double-seat constituencies (regions). The Assembly is the primary legislative body, with the Council playing more of an advisory role. The 1990 constitution is noted for being one of the first to incorporate protection of the environment into its text. Namibia is a democratic but one party dominant state with the South-West Africa People's Organisation in power. Opposition parties are allowed, but are widely considered to have no real chance of gaining power.

The highest judicial body is the Supreme Court, whose judges are appointed by the president on the recommendation of the Judicial Service Commission. The judicial structure in Namibia parallels that of South Africa. In 1919, Roman-Dutch law was declared the common law of the territory and remains so to the present. The Judiciary is independent of the executive and the legislature.

Namibia is divided in 13 regions; Caprivi, Erongo, Hardap, Karas, Khomas, Kunene, Ohangwena, Okavango, Omaheke, Omusati, Oshana, Oshikoto and Otjozondjupa.


Country name
conventional long form Republic of Namibia
conventional short form Namibia
local long form Republic of Namibia
local short form Namibia
former German Southwest Africa, South-West Africa

Government type

name Windhoek
geographic coordinates 22 34 S, 17 05 E
time difference UTC+1 (6 hours ahead of Washington, DC during Standard Time)
daylight saving time +1hr, begins first Sunday in September; ends first Sunday in April

Administrative divisions
13 regions; Caprivi, Erongo, Hardap, Karas, Khomas, Kunene, Ohangwena, Okavango, Omaheke, Omusati, Oshana, Oshikoto, Otjozondjupa

21 March 1990 (from South African mandate)

National holiday
Independence Day, 21 March (1990)

ratified 9 February 1990, effective 12 March 1990

Legal system
based on Roman-Dutch law and 1990 constitution; has not accepted compulsory ICJ jurisdiction

See more information on the next page... (next)




copyrights ©
2015 | Policy